Institute of Library and Information Science
Eötvös Loránd University
Faculty of Humanities
Budapest, Hungary

History of our institute

The first university library course in Hungary starts here at the Eötvös Loránd University, Faculty of Humanities, in the 1948/1949 academic year.

After the appointment of Máté Kovács as head of department part-time evening and correspondence courses were introduced as well as extra courses for specialists who had no library science degree.

The first comprehensive PhD examination in library science - by 1996 164 public lecture-presentation defenses of library science PhD dissertations had taken place.
Almost all Hungarian library professionals, scientists, researchers and lecturers of library science-related higher education institutes in Budapest and the provinces get their degrees and their PhD's from our department.

- Since the late 1980's our program has included
- computer studies,
- science reference,
- multinational database training and research.

PhD course started under the direction of the head of department, Dr. Krisztina Voit, with Prof.György Sebestyén PhD. taking over between 2000 and 2013.
The current program head is Dr. habil. Péter Kiszl.

From the late 1990's our program has included EU information and business information management training and research.

The Department of Library Science and the Department of Information Technology were brought under the umbrella of the new Institute of Library and Information Science.

In the 2006 academic year
the new BA course became accredited by the Hungarian Accreditation Committee.
The course offers three specialisations:
- History of books
- Information and knowledge management
- EU information

The MA course was introduced at our institute in the 2009 academic year and accredited by the Hungarian Accreditation Committee.
The specialisations are
- Science (research-development) information management and
- Business information management

Since 1st July 2012
we have been operating as The Institute of Library and Information Science.
Our two departments are
- The Department of Library Science
- The Department of Information Science